Mentor Comment: I’m in it for the money


David Cummings on Startups

Recently I was talking to someone that reached out to meet and learn how to get involved helping startups in the community. We did the standard introduction talk for 15 minutes about our respective backgrounds and established some of our views on technology and markets. Finally, I made the ask, “So, why do you want to help startups?”

Normally, the response is something along the lines of “I enjoy giving back” or “I want to stay current and relevant.” In this case, the answer was “I’m in it for the money.” Hmm, I thought. Being in it for the money makes sense for some people but most of the community that I interact with on a regular basis is in it to help other people and make a positive impact on society. Yes, money is important, but potential mentors that lead with wanting to make money aren’t going to support…

View original post 54 more words

Leave a Reply

