We are legend: The “Selfie” has become the ditchweed of popular culture.


Gods of Advertising

ruCaL84kYcN0I6WeeBjNGcVIyYU
The shot heard ’round the world.

Sometimes I take pictures of myself post them online. I know a lot of other people do, too. Selfies. We all do it. So much so it has become a phenomenon. In 2013, Selfie was deemed word of the year. Ahead of “Twerk.”

Sigh.

Since the beginning of photography –hell, painting…even cave painting- we have all been interested in how we look in pictures. Very interested. That is why when you view a group photo and you are in it you always check yourself out first. “I look like crap,” you sometimes say. Or, “I hate when I make that face.” If you think you look good –a win- then and only then you might say something about someone else in the photograph. “You look hot, Katie!” Then Katie will say, “I think I look like crap.”

04-06-14-david-ortiz-selfie-obama-twitter-3
Et tu, Obama?

And so it goes…

View original post 499 more words

Leave a Reply

